| |

The List You’ve Been Waiting For: The Study Abroad Packing List

Packing for four months? Really? This is something that I’ve known that I’ve had to do for a while now, but it’s definitely been one of the parts of my study abroad experience that I’ve been dreading. No matter how many lists I’ve made or looked up on the Internet, nothing really seemed to ease the overwhelming feelings I got when I realized that I was leaving in less than a week and hadn’t yet started to pack.

I am proud to say that I managed to fit most of my items in just one carry on travel backpack. After doing a lot of research over winter break, I found the Aeronaut 45 travel bag by Tom Bihn, which I got for Christmas and absolutely love (I was pretty much sold after reading about how this blogger packed for one month of backpacking in this bag.).

So here it is – my packing list for four months in Sevilla, Spain! Here’s my list of what I fit inside my travel bag (mostly by using Tom Bihn packing cubes), as well as the few items I’ve put in my relatively empty suitcase and my purse.

All of the clothes and accessories that I'm bringing with me
All of the clothes and accessories that I’m bringing with me

Oh, the magic of packing cubes! Here's a shot of everything above, yet condensed into three packing cubes (1 large and 2 small)
Oh, the magic of packing cubes! Here’s a shot of everything above, yet condensed into three packing cubes (1 large and 2 small)

Clothing and Accessories:

The large packing cube - filled with my shirts and jeans
The large packing cube – filled with my shirts and jeans

Large Packing Cube:

  • 3 T-shirts
  • 3 nice T-shirts (white, black, turquoise) (These cheap ones from Amazon* are great!)
  • 3 nice tank tops (lacy black, Carolina blue, burgundy)
  • 2 tunics (black and white pattern and turqouis)
  • 1 chambray top
  • 2 sweaters (thin black striped and white)
  • 2 cardigans (black and pink) (These J. Crew Cardigans* are my favorites!)
  • 1 black dress
  • 2 pairs of jeans (Joe’s Jeans* are so comfy and perfect for travel!)
One of the small packing cubes - filled with my shorts and skirts
One of the small packing cubes – filled with my shorts and skirts

Small Packing Cube 1:

  • 2 pairs of Nike running shorts*
  • 1 pair of jean shorts
  • 1 pair of fun patterned shorts
  • 1 black maxi skirt
  • 3 skirts (black and white striped, orange patterned, and tribal patterned)
  • 1 pair of long black leggings
The other small packing cube - filled with underwear, socks, tights, sports bras and a camp
The other small packing cube – filled with underwear, socks, tights, sports bras and a cami

Small Packing Cube 2:

  • 2 pairs of tights (black and tan) (Instead of buying regular tights, I love to buy these dance tights* because of their thickness and ability to lift up the foot part and wear socks too.)
  • 2 pairs of long socks
  • 3 pairs of white socks
  • 1 white cami
  • 3 sports bras
  • 14 pairs of underwear

Toiletries:

  • Travel sized hand sanitizer
  • Travel sized shampoo
  • Travel sized conditioner
  • Travel sized body wash
  • Travel sized face wash
  • Makeup

Technology:

Miscellaneous:

  • Small bag of jewelry
  • Prescription medicine (enough to last 4 months, with a doctor’s note)
  • Bag of hair ties
  • Small satchel
  • Retainer
Ta-da! Here's what my bag looked like when filled with the packing cubes. I could fit both the large cube and the two small cubes in the main compartment (although it does take some space away from the side compartments). Even with the cubes, there's still plenty of room to put my laptop on top right before I head to the airport!
Ta-da! Here’s what my bag looked like when filled with the packing cubes. I could fit both the large cube and the two small cubes in the main compartment (although it does take some space away from the side compartments). Even with the cubes, there’s still plenty of room to put my laptop on top right before I head to the airport!

On the Plane:

Checked Bag:

  • Pepper spray (This must be checked.)
  • Old sneakers to leave behind
  • Gifts for the host family
  • North Face Recon backpack*
  • Umbrella
  • Pens and pencils
  • Notebooks
  • Makeup removing wipes
  • Razor replacements
  • Laptop locking cable
  • Gloves
  • Tide to-go pen
  • 2 TSA approved luggage locks*
  • Combination lock* (for hostels)
  • Vitamins

Cary On Purse:

So there you have it! I hope this list helps you as you prepare for your next adventure – whether it be for a month, four, or even longer.

Happy Traveling!

Mikala

 

*Disclaimer: I may earn a small commission for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial, and/or link to any products or services from this website. Your purchase helps support my work in bringing you real information on domestic and foreign travel.

Similar Posts